A keyword is a unique alphanumeric word that can trigger actions such as an opt-in, opt-out, or auto-response text when text messaged to a specific shortcode.
Yes. Here is a list of restrictions:
A short code is a 5 or 6 digit number used for enterprise and brand text messaging campaigns. Consumers can send text messages to a short code and receive messages from a short code. There are two different types of short codes: shared and dedicated.
A shared short code, typically owned by a text message marketing provider, allows multiple businesses to use the same shortcode to send bulk text messages to their customers. It is a cost-effective way for small and medium-sized businesses to send group text messages.
A dedicated short code is a short code owned and operated by a single company. That company has full control over that code and has access to every message delivered to it, whether or not that message is connected to a specific campaign. The process of obtaining and maintaining dedicated short codes can be 6-8 weeks or more.
The message delivered with an SMS keyword contains only text while the message delivered with an MMS keyword contains the textual keyword plus a piece of content such as an image or video. Both SMS keywords and MMS keywords can trigger either SMS or MMS responses.
Keywords will remain active as long as your account is in good standing and the keywords are being used. Keywords will be released from your account after a number of consecutive months of inactivity. Active keywords will not be released. If one of your keywords has been released, and you would like to reacquire it, you may do so if it is available. Your monthly plan will define how long an inactive keyword will remain in your account. Free trial account keywords typically expire after 1 month while in an account with a Dedicated short code the keywords do not typically expire at all.
If you downgrade the monthly plan of your account, the keywords will adapt the rules of the new account type starting from when the keyword was last used. This means that if you have a keyword that has not been used for two months, and you downgrade to a plan that only allows one month of inactivity, then automatically that keyword will expire and be released.
Yes. You can delete the keyword you no longer wish to have. This can be done in the “Keywords” tab or within the keyword section of an SMS/MMS campaign.
SMS/MMS campaigns use SMS keywords, while MMS Inboxes use MMS keywords. If you acquire an MMS keyword, you will automatically have access to its SMS counterpart, and vice versa. For more information on the keyword types, see the above question “What is the difference between an SMS keyword and an MMS keyword?”
You are not charged for the creation of new keywords, but you may be limited to a specific number of keywords depending on your plan.
When you own your own dedicated short code there is no limit to the number of keywords you are allowed. You can also configure the HELP and STOP messages to your own requirements. Your keywords will never expire either until you release them.