Google Pay uses a 1-click install process to save Passes into the app. The Android device will typically receive a link to install the Pass into the Google Pay app. After your customers click the Pass install link, the Pass will automatically be installed into their Google Pay app.
No, you cannot remove a Pass from a customer’s wallet app. You can delete the data associated with the pass-id from our system, however, doing so will not remove the Pass from the Google Pay app. You can also update your customer’s Pass with blank data or set the ‘pass-status’ to ‘Expired’ or ‘Voided’.
To delete or uninstall a Pass from Google Pay, tap ‘ Passes’ then tap the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the Pass, then tap ‘Remove’.
No, there is a separate section for expired Passes in the Google Pay app called ‘Expired Passes’. Gift Cards and Coupons in the expired section will show “(Expired)” on the front of the Pass. If you call our ‘UpdatePass’ API and change the ‘Pass-Status’ to ‘Expired’, there will also be a new field below the pass called ‘Pass Status’, which will say ‘Expired’.
No, redeemed coupon Passes will remain in the ’Passes’ section in the Google Pay app. You must update the Pass to redeemed by calling our ‘UpdatePass’ API to change the ‘pass-status’ field. Doing so will add a new field on the below the Pass called ‘Pass Status’ where you will see ‘Redeemed’ and will move the Pass to the ‘Expired Passes’ section in the Google Pay app.
No, Google Pay does not currently allow Passes to be shared between different Google accounts from the app. If you do not disable sharing permissions for the Pass Template or Pass from our Pass Template Builder or API, your customer will still be able to share the link to install the Pass to different Google accounts until you disable sharing in the Template Builder or through our API.
Customers can turn notifications on or off by locating the settings tab in the Google Pay app. In the settings tab, click ‘notifications’ there will be an option to turn ‘Updates about your passes’ on or off. Notifications may include event and flight reminders or updates, nearby offers, when your offers are about to expire, etc.
Notifications can be sent to your customer’s Passes by setting geolocations or ‘relevant locations’ in the Pass Template Builder or through the API. Setting geolocations enables you to send a notification to your customer’s device whenever their Pass is detected near that location. Setting an expiration date on coupon Passes will also send a notification to your customer’s device to notify them that their Pass will be expiring soon.
You cannot define how Passes are organized upon delivery to the device. Passes are grouped in the app by the order that they were added. However, your customers can sort Passes after they are installed in the Google Pay app. Customers can sort Passes by pressing and holding the Pass that they want to reorganize then moving the Pass to the desired location.
Google Pay refers to ‘relevant locations’ as ‘geolocations’. Geolocations are used to display a message or ‘geofenced notification’ on your customer’s device to notify them when they are nearby. For geofenced notifications to work on Google Pay, customers must enable ‘Updates about your passes’ in the notification settings on the app and have location services turned on. Geofenced notifications will appear when the Android device is within 150 meters of the relevant location for all Pass types.
Google Pay currently allows up to 10 geolocations to be set per Pass. Geolocations can be set for all customers in the Pass Template. By calling our API, you can customize the relevant locations for each customer.